Basic question from complete noobie - re: burning to DVD

Lemur

Original poster
May 30, 2007
Very basic question, I'm sure - but I'm a complete noobie when it comes to any DVR.

I tape, unfortunately, far too much -- currently, on VHS. Ideally, I'd like to record a show and then burn it to DVD. However, I don't THINK I want to burn it to DVD right from the recording device (as that will take too long to burn, perhaps).

Here is what I want to do -- not sure about the feasibility and/or equipment I need...

I'd like to record a show. Then (whether by sending it to my computer or not) burn that show(s) onto a DVD, for later viewing on a regular DVD player.

This way, when I get way behind in my watching, I won't have stacks of VHS tapes; I'll have a far more compact pile....

Is this something fairly common for people to do? Will the Cablevision ioTV DVR unit record to DVD quickly (or will it take as long as the actual show itself)?

Thanks!

Chris

If you're looking to save time in getting the programming to DVD, you might consider a [stand-alone] DVD recorder with a built in hard drive. You could record your programming to the hard drive, then recording from the hard drive to DVD only takes a few minutes (and you can even quickly delete all the commercials if you wanted).

I've never dealt with any DVRs that allow you to transfer files directly to PC via network connection, but I'm sure someone will chime in if there are any such options.

Hi Scottie,

I'm not sure I follow exactly -- when you say to record to show to the DVD Burner's Hard drive -- you don't mean right from the broadcast...you mean, from a DVR or something like it - TO the DVD burner's hard drive...

Do they make DVD burners with hard drives that can record broadcast television??? If so - that may be my best option of all.

Chris