BBC America is Lame

CowboyDren

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 18, 2005
Is there a legal way to get the real BBCs in the US, maybe nearly real-time? Even if it requires PAL or SECAM satellite equipment, can it be done?

Is there a legal way to get the real BBCs in the US

Nope ...

If you have family over in the UK - there are ways that you can get the content streamed to your pc over here in the US .. but nothing legal ... no. Not unless you are a UK resident and you pay the License fee.

Let's say that I am a resident and do have a current account. Are you saying that it's technically possible without resorting to IP-based solutions? Does a bird over North America repeat the signal(s)? I know the rules on this forum, and I'm not asking to break laws or contracts, or even asking for pointers, just asking a hypothetical question.

I'm just frustrated by watching four-year-old Dr. Who and last years' Top Gear. :)

No. No satellite that covers the UK and the US has BBC. Only way to get TG new eps in the US is via the danged old internet. :)

yup - other than a slingbox or computer hooked up with something like orb.com (assuming you were a uk resident and paying a license fee) there are other methods to get the tv shows you like within an hour or two of air-time - but none of them are legal .. :)

Why would a satellite over the US broadcast the BBC to the US?

For the same reason that a satellite over the US broadcasts

African
Filipino
Italian
Russian
Arabic
French
Japanese
South Asian
Armenian
German
Korean
Ukrainian
Chinese
Greek
Polish
Urdu
Israeli
Portuguese

channels .... so that ex pats from those countries can view their favorite shows.

Yeah yeah - i know about broadcast rights and the reasons why the BBC can't be had over here - but if we are following logic here .. given the plethora of foreign based channels on US satellites .. one could easily forgive someone for asking .. "why not" ... couldn't they ?