Bell ExpressVu advice needed

jt3803

Original poster
Jun 12, 2009
South Texas
I live in south Texas (San Antonio area) and I have a subscription to Bell ExpressVu through a friend who lives in Canada. We recently sold our house and I had to leave my dish with the house - that was an older 18" round dish with only one LNB.

I also have an Dish Pro elliptical dish with a dual band LNBF and a single LNB that someone had left by the dumpster at a nearby apartment complet; the dish looked brand new, so I picked it up, thinking it would work for me. Yesterday, I hund the dish on the side of the house and hooked up the single LNB to my receiver; I am getting a decent signal (in the 70s) for Nimiq 91. But when I look at 82, I get the message Wrong Sat - Nimiq 91.

I did a little bit of research on the net yesterday and my understanding is I need to use 2 lnb's. I point the one that is in the middle to 91W and with the skew adjustment, I should be able to pick up 82W.

My understanding is I also need a switch (SW21). I plan on using only one received, so this should be an easy set up. My question to you is can I use the 2 LNB's that I have or should I buy something else.

Thanks in advance for your help.

here is the info

1) the dish is eliptical and says 'Dish Network Plus'

2) in the center, there is what I think is a DP Dual band LNBF with 2 connectors, one that says '2D' and one that says '1F'; it is dish pro.

3) to the left (when facing the dish), there is a single LNB - also dish pro. Currently, this is the only one that is hooked up to the receiver. I have no switch, but the plan was to get both satellites (91W and 82W) and get a switch.

The receiver that I am using is a model 5100.

Thanks for your help.

1) the dish is eliptical and says 'Dish Network Plus'

2) in the center, there is what I think is a DP Dual band LNBF with 2 connectors, one that says '2D' and one that says '1F'; it is dish pro.