Best dish position to survive high winds

Status
Please reply by conversation.

cracklincrotch

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 28, 2007
Halifax, Nova Scotia
I've got hurricane Bill coming my way, Cat 1. Winds start off north-east, and over time swing around across the south and on to north-west.

The dish is 7.5 foot mesh. The pole is 3" diameter, 1/4" aluminum wall, cement filled. The pole is 7' out of the ground, 40" in ground.

Should I leave the dish at true south, or move the dish to point away from the wind as the wind direction changes?

Well I am not an expert,,,,but I use to live in Cancun,Mexico and probably went through about 20 hurricanes,,,,,,,avoid having yr bud facing directly into the wind,,,,,try and keep it sideways,,,,,when the wind shifts go by feel,,,,if you still have light,,,,,,keep turning

By having it to true south,,,it is at it's highest elevation like a flying saucer ready for lift off,,,,,,,

What I would be worried the most would be for flying objects to damage it,,,,

Just remember,,,be safe,,,if it gets damaged,,there are plenty out there,,,,,just take care of yrself and yr family,,,

Good luck !!!

Thank god it's a cat 1 and not cat 4 or 5 !!!!

Cheers,,,

If you don t have time to take it down,,,I would probably try to either chain it down the most secure way I could to avoid the dish to fly away and becoming a dangerous missile,,,,,

Like previously said yr proyection and yr family the most important

The best position is pointing straight up, however not all elevation adjustments will allow you to do this.