C Band Still Alive?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ndennis

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Jan 10, 2010
Southern US
I've been using my old 4DTV just to power my 10' dish with my AZBox. I have not used the 4DTV to view anything in many years.

I changed the battery years ago but it now appears to be dying. The display has everything lit-up.

My 10' dish goes back to about 1996 but the Ku is still working fine.

Looking for a way to power my dish has made me remember how enjoyable things were back in the 90's. Especially the wild feeds.

Where is a good place to see what's up there on FTA C-band?

Can my AZBox receive everything the 4DTV can receive? Is there a better all around box?

It does not appear that the AZBox can control a movable dish. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Dennis

I am brand new to the new FTA myself. I have a old 8ft dish I am going to try and get going. I like this channel search the best so far. Here's a link.
kuband.fta.channels.drsat.ca/channels.cfm

Just put in c band, and you can leave everything else in "search all". There are a lot of c-band channels.

From what I am understanding, your receiver can get C band as well as KU. It's all done in the LNB's. They convert the signal down to a intermediate frequency that the receiver picks up, it doesn't really know if it's C or KU. But they do have some new fancy switching they use in the new receivers. They change the voltage going up the coax to tell the LNB's to switch from horizontal to vertical, and they have a 22khz signal the receiver sends up the coax to switch between KU and C band LNB's. This switch can be built into the feedhorn assembly, or can be external and looks just a like a 2-way coax splitter. So that's how they manage what signal gets to the receiver.