Cable customer service vastly improved

iKramerica

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 20, 2004
I've dealt on and off with cable over the years, both for myself and for family

I've had some recent experiences with both Adelphia and TW that have been so positive, I can't believe it is the same industry as I've dealt with in the past.

Adelphia is installing cable modem tomorrow, and set a 2 hour window that was convenient for me. The phone call I got was a soft sell, as I had ordered via the internet. They didn't try to force me out of Dish network, etc. They just gave me the info i wanted, and then set it up for me.

TW will buy my Adelphia area later, so I emailed TW re: the various changes. They were very honest about what to expect and when to expect it, gave straight answers about timeframes, and answered my cable modem switchover questions.

While in my area, I will stick with Dish Network for 1 more year, this is because of the answers TW gave me, that upgrades would take a bit of time, no false promises. So I feel confident that in a years time, I will have good HD packages available to me and might consider switching to TW completely at that time. And with the quick, honest responses (back and forth 4 times in 2 days, always within 2-3 hours of my email a response came back), I'm willing to give cable another try, even after the bad experiences of the past (especially considering the worsening customer service at the sat companies).

Now if only the phone companies could get their act together. I'm already dumping DSL and will likely go to VoIP as well due to ungoing service issues and outages with SBC. I would not even consider a TV package via SBC in the future based on the unfixable line problems I've been experiencing.

iKramerica said:
I've dealt on and off with cable over the years, both for myself and for family