Can anyone help me with a few questions?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Randy1

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 13, 2009
north cAROLINA
Im new to fta. I want to order a system. But after much research on the web, I am a little confused as to what I need.

-receiver
-dish
-lnb's
-motor

I would love to be able...
- to pick up as many stations as I can
- be able to record a show while watching another
- a system that has blind scan and anything else that would make it easy for me to operate.

Thanks,

Randy

Randy, some simple facts first. Free to air has a lot to offer, once you learn where everything is, on what satellite , etc. Secondly, all the cable stuff is scrambled, as satellite-delivery of that programming is intended for paying customers and cable systems, most of it we cannot subscribe to, even if we wanted to. That said, there are satellite receivers that will allow you to subscribe to many of the reg cable-system channels.Google "4DTV" or search our forum for it. Just depends on how bad you want to see CNN or FoxNews or Cinemax. We have access to many news feeds, and several news channels, many network channels from the US networks and others. Check out The List, link at top of page and look through some of the satellites to see what some offer. Many of us watch Galaxy 18 at 123West, there's 2 or 3 Fox channels from diff cities, My-TV network, some independents like AMG-TV, and THISTV which shows movies. (sorry, no first run movies there). All free. Just buy a dish, a receiver and dish-motor for the most variety. Even more channels are avail with a big C-band dish (6-10' dish like you saw in the 80's). Hope this helps for a start.