Can both TV1 and TV2 on 622 by HDTV?

debhoy

Original poster
Dec 5, 2008
First of all, I am not very technical, so please dumb it down for me!

We have a 622 with an HDTV as TV1 and an old TV in our bedroom as TV2. We are replacing TV2 with a new HDTV. We didn't realize that TV2 was only 480i. Is there a simple way to connect 2 HDTVs to this receiver? We don't care if both have to watch the same channel at the same time, because we only watch one TV at a time anyway. We would rather not have to get another receiver, because we never know what recorded program we will want to watch on the bedroom TV. Seems silly to record the same things on 2 different DVRs.

Thanks for your suggestions.

You will need to run HDMI to one TV and Component along with audio cables to the other and you will be watching the same channel on both from TV1 tuner

About the only way to get HD on both TV1 & TV2 would be to either an HDMI cable or the green, blue, red along with an audio cable to TV2 if it isn't too far of a run to the TV2 location. The receiver has mulitple HD outputs and you could utilize the different outputs.

If the TV2 run is quite some distance, it will be far cheaper and more reliable to run component rather than video. My favorite cable site has 100 ft. component video with audio for $40, cheapest 100 ft HDMI they have is $100. Personally, I would never run HDMI over 30 feet. Just throw your receiver into Single Mode and you'll be set for both TV's.

Give the coax line a try first - we have our bedroom TV on coax as TV2 and we think the picture is really good. Not as good as HD but definitly sharper than SD, but who cares when the set is 10 feet away and your glasses off!

Plus you do get the DVR functions in the bedroom and that really works out good.