Can I use a hopper with an already existing dish system in another city?

bigeasy

Original poster
Dec 8, 2013
United States
I am subletting a house in Atlanta for a few months and the person I am subletting from has Dish and a perfectly working 722 system that's included in the rent. But I have a bunch of premium channels and brought along my Hopper (from New Orleans) to use thinking it wouldn't be any big deal. I am a novice at this but suffice it to say it's not working anywhere close to well. I get some of my international channels as well as a few random HBO ones and PPV but pretty much nothing else. Error messages abound and if I put it on let's say ESPN, it looks for a signal and can't find one. I did 'diagnostics' and got a red "error" message that I should check my dish for obstructions. Given the fact that the 722 receiver works perfectly, I'm don't think this is the issue.

Any easy fix to this? Like I said, I'm a novice and was thinking this wouldn't be much more than plug and play. I knew I wouldn't get local channels (have a USB OTA tuner on order) but any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Figuring this is a little more complicated than what I was expecting... :confused:

722 - Satellites 129, 110, 118 and 119 are under both Satellite Input 1 and 2. The switch is a DPP44 w/Separator

Hopper - 'Point Dish' has green dots next to tuner input 1 and satellite 118 and no dots next to any transponders.

Hopper - 'Run Diagnostics' I get green check marks next to satellites 129, 110, 118 and 119 on inputs 1 and 2. red x next to all satellites on input 3.

Well heck! It took a good 5 hours but it finally worked and I didn't do anything different. I guess the final question I have is that is there any way to get any of the ABC/CBS/NBC/FOX feeds without the OTA USB tuner? Doesn't matter if they are local or not - just wanted to watch football games mainly. Thanks for your help!