Status
Please reply by conversation.

prsat

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 5, 2004
Puerto Rico
Hi:
I just received from my son this fta receiver yesterday. Doing some reading I found out that some people adapted a HD via usb to this machine. Because I'm new in this can any one explain me how I do that? Thx:confused:

Thats easy,go buy a internal hardrive either IDE or SATA then buy a usb enclosoure for it. They are pretty cheap usually around $30. Just make sure the housing support the drive interface you choose. Example if you buy a IDE drive make sure the housing supports IDE ans if a SATA drive then SATA.Let the 7000 format the drive not your computor as it has to be FAT32 not NTFS.

Thx

Thats easy,go buy a internal hardrive either IDE or SATA then buy a usb enclosoure for it. They are pretty cheap usually around $30. Just make sure the housing support the drive interface you choose. Example if you buy a IDE drive make sure the housing supports IDE ans if a SATA drive then SATA.Let the 7000 format the drive not your computor as it has to be FAT32 not NTFS.

Thx. I'll do that tomorrow.:)

It might be cheaper, and a whole lot easier... to just get a pre-packaged external USB drive.
There are choices up to around 300gb, on sale for around $99.

And let's face it... this is gettin' to be the shopping season! - :eek:

It might be cheaper, and a whole lot easier... to just get a pre-packaged external USB drive.

And let's face it... this is gettin' to be the shopping season! - :eek:

The problem with getting one of the new drives is that the drives have sleep modes and backup modes ect on them and the CS7000 will not work with them. If you can find a older style one with a good old on/off switch it would probally work if not your best bet is a usb enclosure.

i know a thread a while back listed the adapter cables so you could use an older Hard Drives or even make them usb (externals)

a list of compatible hard drives would be nice :)