DBV-S2 tuner for media server?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

SpiffWilkie

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 16, 2008
Memphis, TN
I'm putting together a linux media server, and am considering adding a satellite tuner to the mix. I'm new to satellite tuners for the PC and am a little overwhelmed trying to find a card that I can use with Ubuntu Server/MythTV and that can get DVB-S2 signals (PBS on AMC 21!!).
Anyone around here have some experience they'd like to share?

Thanks!

I'd recommend any tuner that uses the stb6100 & stv0903/stv0900 tuner demod combo. The Prof 7500 is an excellent choice for the money.
I've done a fair bit of Linux development on cards based on those chipsets and they perform very well

UDL

Thanks for the info. The price is pretty good, too. Although, I would prefer a PCI/PCI-E solution just to keep things clean. Do you have experience/knowledge of the 7301? It looks to be running the same chipsets that you mentioned. Also, I'm not terribly in love with MythTV. Are there other good apps for recording? I just need something to schedule recordings. This box won't be for viewing (well, maybe the occasional feed), just for recording of OTA, FTA, and storage of my exisiting DVD/Blu-Ray collection. I'm experimenting with a raspi on the front end.

Thanks again,
Steve

I'm silently following this thread. I like the idea of a Linux based media center. In addition to the Prof satellite tuner, are there good choices for OTA tuners and radio tuners (I'd love a shortwave tuner, although it's a dying hobby -- but the few I saw out by WinRadio would cost loads of money)? Anyway, don't mean to hijack. Still wondering about the OP's question about the 7301, and other apps for recording FTA and OTA in Linux.