declination question, Channelmaster 90cm, custom mount, motor

Status
Please reply by conversation.

alteng

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 15, 2007
I'm installing an old Channelmaster 90cm (prime focus) dish onto an SG-9120b motor, but since I'm using a homemade bracket (orig was too heavy), and since this is my first time dealing with the math involved in setting declination without a standard scale (stamped into the dish bracket) I'm having trouble deciding where/how I should measure the declination angle. With a standard bracket it's all done for you, but I have no such "luxury" this time. I've searched the archives and read until I'm going blind, but I'm still not positive where I should measure the declination in relation to the bent arm of the SG-9120. The manual states that being at 37 degrees lat I should subtract 7 (approx) from 40 to get the angle. Question is, with no "normal" bracket, where do I measure this 33 degrees. I'm attaching a link to a pic below - should the 33 degrees be the angle I have marked as "X" in the pic.... or ??? Any help appreciated. Pic link below.

http://www.fuelcellfinder.com/fta/bracket-X.jpg

If you have a decent satellite meter you don't really even need to mess with it. Just make sure the mount on your motor is set to your latitude and then use your meter to adjust for elevation on your dead south satellite and you should be o.k. When you adjust the dish mount to peak the signal your changing the declination anyway so I wouldn't try so hard to get it exactly right in the beginning. For people that don't have a meter then the careful adjustment of the declination is the only way they can be sure they are close to the arc. If you don't have a meter get one and avoid a big headache.

Doh! Problem solved!