Dish 61.5 Bird on Winegard Trav'ler?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by reubenray, Sep 9, 2019.

  1. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Can I do the manually search to find the 61.5 bird on the Winegard Trav'ler?
     
  2. Brussam

    Brussam SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Posts:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    431
    Yes. Put the controller in Manual mode and select Satellite 61.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  3. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Thanks!!!
     
  4. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Is there a reason why I only have 1 tuner? I have an external hard drive and wanted to record something while watching the Saints game tonight.
     
  5. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,827
    Likes Received:
    10,258
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    If I remember correctly you have a Wally. The question then is have you paid your one time $40 DVR fee? You don’t see the second tuner until you have enabled that.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  6. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I did a complete restart with the EHD turned off and then back on and I got the second tuner.
     
    TheKrell and charlesrshell like this.
  7. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,827
    Likes Received:
    10,258
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    There ya go!
     
  8. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Doing this is a great plus for Dish instead of Directv. As soon as I pulled into my campsite I knew I could not pick up the WA birds, but the EA birds were wide open.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  9. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I am now in a campground where I cannot pick up any birds (Eastern or Western), but I can access my DRV and I can get a few local stations. How do I watch the local stations through the Wally?
     
  10. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    2,500
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Do you have the Dish USB OTA adapter?
     
  11. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,827
    Likes Received:
    10,258
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Or the AirTV USB OTA two tuner adaptor which is half the price of the Dish version of the same thing. ;)
     
  12. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    I have the AirTV Dual Tuner adapter. I did the scan and picked up 11 channels. But I cannot access any of them. The Wally keeps trying to do a switch check, but it can't complete being the Dish is stowed. I also can't access OnDemand shows.
     
  13. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,434
    Likes Received:
    9,110
    Location:
    USA
    You can try disconnecting the coax from the back of the Wally and letting it finish the switch test.
     
    NYDutch likes this.
  14. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    For only being at this location for one night I will just watch some local stations on the TV instead of using Dish. But I will be at some other campgrounds in a few weeks for more than one day that I would want to figure this out. I keep getting this error notice when I tried to use the DVR, OnDemand and Netflix. I have internet into the Wally.

    "Unable to access this feature at this time. Data is not available"
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  15. reubenray

    reubenray Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Once I got to a campground with a clear view of the sky everything works the way it was supposed to. I think I confused it by switching from the 61.5 bird to the multi-sat setup and not being able to pick up any birds.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...