Dish network comes out tomorrow to...

Yragha

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 24, 2006
install my dish but I have a question for ya.

Is it absolutely neccessary for my system to be grounded? I live on the second floor not the 200th but 5yrs ago or so when I had Directv they couldn't ground it therefore I had to run my system like I always do thru a surge protector.

I'm wanting Dish to install the dish on the second floor balcony 'on' or near the railing.

I'm a newbie here but would appreciate a response.

I've grown tired of the pixelization on Time Warner Cable and therefore decided to make the switch. Looking forward to a better picture than what I'm currenty viewing.

Thank you.

my system not grounded for 5 years now and it still works fine. it's just E* and D* requirements so they are not liable if something happens to you're dish.

volkodav said:
my system not grounded for 5 years now and it still works fine. it's just E* and D* requirements so they are not liable if something happens to you're dish.

E and D???

Let me ask a second question, what would happen if the Dish took a hit (lightning)? Would it be better for it to be grounded or will the surge protector do the job?

I had Directv for 3 or so years ungrounded.

Thank you for your quick response.

E* Dish net. D* Directv. if lightning hits your dish that surge protector wont save your equipment.

Dave nye said:
nor will grounding.
The ground is for static thats all, it's not a protection from lightning.

really? I didn't know that.

So if Dish comes out tomorrow and says they can't ground it, go ahead? It seems safe from what yall are telling me.

My main concern (and reason I left Directv) is that I would be watching satellite during bad weather and something happens and all my electronics plugged into the 'surge protector' is ruined.

I appreciate all you guys help!