Do I need a preamp?

thisisrybo

Original poster
Dec 9, 2007
Hi, I am new to receiving OTA HD signals and I have bought an antenna and set it up in my back yard. I have not mounted it or anything yet and gotten great results just putting it in my daughter's backyard little tikes plaything. Anyway, the stations I'm trying to receive are about 65 miles away and I wondered if I would benefit from an amplifier. If so which amplifier specifically? One station I can't get but I think (NBC- WAAY48) it's because they haven't started transmitting the digital signal yet. All the others are fine but I don't think they are as strong as they could be. Also, could someone explain grounding the antenna and the best way of going about it. Any help would be appreciated!!

Thanks,

Yes on the preamp. I'll leave the grounding to others, as there seems to be some difference of opinion.

Mounting - the higher the better. Consider a rotor also, if there's much spread between the stations you want to receive.