DUO Node on a 1 Hopper/2 Joey System?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

rjruby

Pub Member / Supporter
Original poster
Sep 13, 2003
Nazareth, PA
Can I use a DUO Node on a 1 Hopper/2 Joey system in anticipation of eventually getting a 2nd Hopper in the future?

TIA,

Bob

It will work, but it will be difficult to get the duo node. I am a tech and the offices in our region only got 5 duo's a piece and we are all out. If you upgrade to two in the future, which I suggest because the hopper needs a lot of software updates to get them to communicate, the tech will have one then, the activation process is a pain in the butt, and we have been going over it twice a day everyday.

I don't know why they would do it though. Duo node are more expensive that single nodes. If you decided to upgrade to a second Hopper in the future the installer would be required to swap out the node for free. No sense in putting the duo node in now.

Using both client outputs on the Duo Node should work, but just to be safe, I would split off of only the one on the side with the Hopper. As far as shortage of Duo Nodes, you can buy them for just under $60 from DishDepot.com. I personally like the idea of having the extra lines already run with the first install. But that is just me....

Thanks for all the responses.

My question was based on the possibility of buying the equipment rather than leasing.

I don't know why they would do it though. Duo node are more expensive that single nodes. If you decided to upgrade to a second Hopper in the future the installer would be required to swap out the node for free. No sense in putting the duo node in now.