DVB HDTV / Ready to Give Up

Status
Please reply by conversation.

barret

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 30, 2006
I thought I would post this as a partial guide for those thinking of getting into the DVB side of HDTV and also for some possible answers from those well experienced at this.
I am a newbie, 6 weeks or so, (old guy) but a newbie nonetheless to DVB. Basic computer skills only. Not a programmer which is probably part of my problem. It seems that if you can't speak the language, (on some forums) not here, you won't get help. I decided to go the computer /dvb card route because I was tired of waiting for a good North American released fta HD receiver with 4:2:2 capabilities. I purchased the following:

Gateway GM5474:

Processor Brand AMD Athlon(TM) 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+
Processor Speed 3.0GHzx2
System Bus 2000MHz
Cache Memory 1MB + 1MB on die Level 2
System Memory (RAM) 2GB
System Memory (RAM) Expandable To 4GB
Type of Memory (RAM) PC2-5300 DDR2
Hard Drive Type SATA II (7200 rpm
Hard Drive Size 500GB
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT HDMI Out
Video Memory 256MB
Personal Video Recorder (PVR) Yes
TV Tuner Yes
MPEG Yes
Audio High-definition (7.1-channel support)
Vista 32 bit

DVB Card: Technisat Skystar2

Setup: Out of box, plugged in HDMI cable to HDTV. Booted up, did initial set up, set up internet connection (Dialup) I know but that all that is available out here, and downloaded and installed all Vista updates. Powered off.

Installed Skystar2 card, powered up,downloaded and installed latest vista compatible driver 4.4.1RC2. for Skystar2 from Technisat.
Purchased TSReader full version and installed with VLC. Setup TSReader Input sat info for AMC3 PBSHD (as a test),scanned and watching HDTV. I located some 4:2:2 sport feeds, scanned and tested. Everything works great. I was totally amazed at the picture quality and performance.