DVR Not Working

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by charlesrshell, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Sorry if this has been previously posted. One of my HWSs just started acting up. When I press the DVR button the My Recordings screen opens up for about two seconds and then goes to live TV. My other HWS has no issue. Both HWSs are on S544 1/28/2017. I called DISH CSR and they said it is a known issue and awaiting a software update. Any body else having this issue?
     
  2. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    9,145
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe now would be a good time for you to upgrade to the new Carbon interface? :biggrin
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  3. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Ha Ha, do you think that will fix the issue?
     
    gasman882001 likes this.
  4. LailaS@DISH

    LailaS@DISH SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Littleton
    There have been several reports stating the DVR issue and our Engineering department is actively working on it for a fix as soon as possible.

    We can try to force the new UI as it is a different software to see if the same issue occurs.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  5. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    9,145
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know, but if it's a software problem then replacing the software should fix it, theoretically. I haven't seen any reports of this problem with the new UI. :rolleyes:
     
  6. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    9,145
    Location:
    USA
    Have there been any reports of this problem with the new UI?

    Thanks Laila. :)
     
  7. LailaS@DISH

    LailaS@DISH SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Littleton
    There has not been any issues with the new UI that we are currently aware of.
     
    JSheridan and charlesrshell like this.
  8. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks for the info. Do not force the update. I will wait and see for now.
     
    LailaS@DISH likes this.
  9. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    just amazing how updates always seem to take a step backwards
    that's why we should be able to block the update in this type of situation
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. joekawasaki

    joekawasaki SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minnesota
    My original hopper is having the same problem. Software S625 last updated on 1/31/17.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  11. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    How long has your Hopper 1 had this issue? The DVR is completely useless. Can't set any timers or view the recordings. Do you have another Hopper?
     
  12. joekawasaki

    joekawasaki SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The problem just started today. I have another original hopper but I haven't checked that one yet.

    Update: my other hopper doesn't have the problem. Of course that one has hardly any recordings.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  13. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    WOW, this is a night mare.
     
  14. da bears

    da bears SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm having the same problem, two hoppers, one is OK, the other cannot access its recordings. Just started today!
     
    joekawasaki and charlesrshell like this.
  15. CPERMD

    CPERMD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ozarks
    Hopper dvr not working
    Joey dead to anything
    Mrs CP had surgery today so I took off the next 3 days to binge watch recordings
    This sucks and I am Angry
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  16. Tampa8

    Tampa8 Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    6,826
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    And I own a bridge I am selling.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Hopper DVR My Recordings is working normal this morning. DISH must of fixed it thru the nightly updates this morning. Thanks DISH. Sure glad I have RF Modulators on my Hoppers. Came in handy last nite watching my good HWS at another location.
     
    Tampa8 likes this.
  18. LailaS@DISH

    LailaS@DISH SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Littleton
    The issue has been resolved. Thanks for your patience!
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  19. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Crazy Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,326
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks LailaS@DISH
     
    LailaS@DISH likes this.
  20. joekawasaki

    joekawasaki SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I am also able to access my recordings today.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...