E* wants to take my 811 back after cancelling HD pak?!?!?

bigthrust

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 30, 2004
I just got off the phone with a E* CSR. I wanted to know when my DHA contract commitment was going to be fulfilled (I just wanted the end date) and I was also thinking about cancelling the HD pack (since there is no compelling programing....right Charlie). What I wanted to do was cut back the programming on the DHA plan to A180 w/ HBO (I currently have the Everything Pack). The CSR said that I had no end date for HD and if I cancelled the HD that I would have to send the 811 reciever back to E*. WTF??? I was going to use the 811 for HBO HD since I will still have the HBO pack. Is this normal policy for DISH? Also, I asked the CSR what will replace the 811 and he said nothing. I asked him if I could replace it with another 510 ( I have one already and love it). He said that it would cost me $29 to do that. SO, I have been paying Dish $$$ since 1996 and they want to treat me this way? :shocked Interesting....

When I first posted the details of the Dishin it up promo, I was told that there was a 1 yr commitment to the HD programming pack and a minimum sub level of AT60. If you cancel within this timeframe they can penalize you for the remainder of term(if you own) or will ask for the receiver to be returned (Lease).

Jason

In the papers that come with a leased 811 it clearly says if you have the 811 the HD pack is required or the 811 must be returned. There is NO time limit. There was only a 1 year requirement for those that bought the 811 for $149 on the promotion before.

In everyone's defense the terms have "evolved" so much in Dishin it up know one knows for sure anymore.