ESPN streaming issue on ROKU

Discussion in 'Internet Television Hardware' started by Mr_Flintstone, Oct 14, 2018.

  1. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    I have two Rokus (Roku1and a new Roku Express). Both are now giving me error messages when I try to stream ESPN content logged in through my Dish Network account. They alternate between “Playback Error has Occurred” and “Your provider doesn’t grant access to this content. Check out ESPN’s new streaming at $4.99 a month (or something like that)” If I hit the back button and retry a few times, it will usually let me watch the programming. I don’t know if it is a Dish Network issue, or a Roku ESPN app issue.

    Anyone else encountered this issue?
     
  2. tigerfan33

    tigerfan33 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    6,979
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Alabama
    Log out and then log back in and see if that helps.
     
  3. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    I tried that. It had no effect. I also disconnected from my WiFi, and reconnected. No effect.

    My WiFi isn't the fastest (15x3 mbps), but it should handle ESPN. Amazon, HBO, Fandango, etc... all work perfectly.
     
  4. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    What package do you have with dish?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  5. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    America’s Top 200. The ESPN app has always worked in the past, just not now. They’ve been giving me issues for the last couple months or so.
     
  6. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Have tried to delete and reinstall?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  7. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    ESPN+ and ESPN3 are different apps

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  8. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
  9. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
  10. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
  11. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Its a separate service now..not included in you satellite subscription

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  12. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    Ok. I thought only the previously free to stream with subscription ESPN3 and some other overflow content was on ESPN+. I didn’t know that core ESPN programming had switched over too. So now, are ESPN, ESPN-2, ESPN-U, and SEC channel all on ESPN+?
     
  13. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    unless they have another app
     
  14. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    Just an update...

    I just got off the phone with ESPN. They verified that with my Dish Network America's Top 200 package, I should be able to get Roku programming on the ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN News, ESPNU, and SEC Network channels. I don't have access to any of the (+) channels like ESPN+ or SEC+. I have verified that all of the former channels work on a desktop computer, and on my iPad app. The Roku ESPN app is the only one that is giving me the issue. They gave me some troubleshooting instructions, but I have already tried most of them. The only thing I haven't done yet is a purge of the ESPN app; disconnect from my provider on the app, uninstall the app, restart the Roku, reinstall the app, and then reconnect. I'll try this when I get home.
     
  15. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    3,811
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Roku might have another app..check the app store

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  16. Jagosaurus

    Jagosaurus SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Posts:
    76
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Greater Houston
    I use the standard Watch ESPN app for ESPN, ESPN 2, ESPN U, ESPN News, & SEC Network content often.

    Only the ESPN 3/360 content (at this point) has been moved to ESPN+. I think they may go further back on archived content. Also some B list content is there I don't recall seeing such much of before such as Canadian Football (unless it's aired on a main channel).

    PSVue login works now. My dish login did last year for what it's worth. Try logging in on PC web version. If that doesn't work, it's some auth issue.
     
  17. Mr_Flintstone

    Mr_Flintstone Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KY
    Just an update. I noticed over the weekend that my HBO-GO (on the ROKU) had trouble logging in. After that, I did an extended ping test from a DOS prompt on my computer and noticed that I was dropping packets; not a lot (approximately 1%), but maybe enough to cause issues authenticating. I also had problems connecting to my wireless printer, and a couple of my online games would disconnect every so often. I'm thinking now that my router may be the issue, because I could disconnect from and reconnect to my WiFi, and the problem went away.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...