Find ISP by satellite?

oxi

Original poster
Apr 9, 2012
Spain
Hello, total noob here...

Useless intro you may ignore:
I live in Spain but planning to stay in Cuba for several months. Internet access is severely restricted and a luxury rather than a right. I'd gladly pay the some $7-14 per hour for that lame bandwidth rates and limits if at least I were allowed to connect my own computer. Last time I was there I relied on GPRS at a crappy rate and 10eur per Mb,and that's way to expensive for almost any purpose other than browsing through a text-mode web browser for a bit of info now and then. I really need to have Internet access there for my work, so my only option is to use satellite Internet and hope I won't be caught with my sat equipment during the customs check at arrival.(No, I won't take the dish with me. I'd rather try to find one there or build it myself, I did have a look at this already, but first steps first!)

So, since I have zero experience with satellites I thought I'd look into some common satellites that will work here while I'm learning and testing, and there so I can set it up right away once I get there. Plus since sat ISP apparently have several months to yearly contracts I'd just like to hire one that is going to work in both places, and avoid having to hire two ISPs, one for my learning, one for my staying there.

I looked in satbeams.com and found 3 sats that will apparently offer Internet service in both zones. However I can't seem to find ISPs that will clearly state that use these sats. These sats are:
  • intelsat 903
  • intelsat 1r
  • intelsat 9

Bunch of questions:
  1. I noticed these sats can be reached from within these two zones, i.e. Spain and Cuba. However, they seem to differentiate the zones apart in the maps. Would this mean they use a different set of transponders for each zone? And if so, would the ISP offer the service for both zones in a single contract or I would need to make two contracts?