Free channels with a 4DTV 920 ?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bb_user

Original poster
Sep 22, 2007
I am just getting started I have a 4DTV GI 920 with a mesh 12' dish. I got my limits set for the dish, programmed the satellites and had the system rehit . Are there any free channels i can receive with this setup ? I called a satellite store and they no and wanted to sell me a different receiver. I did check out other websites and can only find FTA channels like RTN or ABC on G-0
KCBU RTN Salt Lake City UT English 11799-V 26660 65 66 KCBU Can anyone tell me if this can be done with my system ? Are there other freg. for the 4dtv receivers to get these channels ? Also is there software or hacks to improve this system ? I did find the 4play program , but was unsure how stable it was. Thanks for any help with this.

Most of the free channels are either
-analog
-DVB

The stuff you posted above is DVB and would need a different box for. In terms of the 920 if you can see KU
-Georgia PBS is on AMC3 (K3) channel 640
-check out X4 (G4 at 99W)..lots of audio

for analog G4 also has a couple analog channels on C-Band. There is still alot up there. The 920 is mainly for subscribed programming but there is some free stuff

On C3, I get channels: 610 DISCOVERY KIDS, 611 MILITARY CHANNEL, 612 DISCOVERY SCIENCE, and so on. I have no subscription. Sometimes these channels will not be on but since I bought the GI 920 (used) I have enjoyed other channels on other satellites. I had found that using the generic satellites I came across The Sleuth Channel. It is time consuming to figure out these satellites and extra channels.