Freesat V8 satellite finder Hank's half ass review.

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by hank123, Aug 16, 2017.

  1. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    Got this in almost a week ago and had about 45 mins to dick around with it.
    It runs about like a v7/v8 box. Has a tv on it so you can watch, you can enter transponders, edit the satellite list ect.
    I was hoping it would have DB option so I can try to hit stuff that is outside my foot print.
    But a 65 dollar meter is not going to run like a spectrum analyzer.

    Few pics. When I get time ill make a video of how it works.
    20170816_195138.jpg 20170816_195142.jpg 20170816_195153.jpg 20170816_195200.jpg 20170816_195219.jpg 20170816_195224.jpg
     
    k.r., FTA4PA, TRG and 1 other person like this.
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. TRG

    TRG SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hank, Do you know if the Freesat V8 will measure Carrier to Noise Ratio (C/N)?
     
  4. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    No it is very basic. No SNR. It is like setting up any TV outside with a STB to tune a dish.

    BIG PLUS is that it is very easy to program in transponders. Blind scan works good. Like most other STB.
    Will not display any forum of encrypted channels.

    It is pretty much and STB with out puts and a battery that you could use on a camping trip.
    Not much to test with KA but I could try on a Directv dish. KU should work.
     
  5. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado




    Not my dog barking, the neighbors seem to have a hard time controlling animals.
     
    Hockeynut and FTA4PA like this.
  6. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    Please ask question or if you want video of anything I will try to take it.

    Bottom line no meter at 65 dollars can beat this. But it is a shame to call it a meter when it is a V8 compressed with a cheap LED and battery.
     
  7. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the review, especially the videos - nice to see it in action! :)
     
  8. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Forgot to ask - where did you get yours?
     
  9. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    Off of Amazon.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  10. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Thanks! :)
     
  11. skysurfer

    skysurfer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    34
    Since you say it behaves like a portable STB box out at the dish, there is no crude spectrum-like display, right?

    I would make a case a Sathero SH-100HD meter that I recently picked up to evaluate can beat this since it's $50 and it locks the same signals as the Freesat V8 and the SH-100HD offers "Power" readout, a Q readout, and a C/N readout but at the con of requiring a power input such as the coax from your indoor sat receiver or an external 12-18V DC battery supply as the SH-100HD doesn't have an internal battery to self power. The Freesat V8 pros apparently are the LCD screen which gives you a STB like operation, the self-powering ability due to internal battery and getting to watch the video of what you are tuning.
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  12. Hockeynut

    Hockeynut SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    846
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    Sat Farm in NC.
    Thanks Hank..Will it accept a sat list from the V7?
     
  13. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    Not sure if it will. I think you can get a program to edit the list.

    It does show the quality but as we all know quality will differ from STB to STB.

    Does the sathero do DB?
     
  14. skysurfer

    skysurfer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    34
    I'm not exactly sure. There is a "Power" figure that's given in dBuV so I"m not sure if that's exactly the DB
    you refer to or not. When I use a portable sat meter, I pay more attention to the C/N figure than I do a DB
    or quality readout.

    I locked a signal to give you the readouts I got if you wanted to try to figure out if "Power" was equivalent to "DB"..
    For the signal I locked, Sathero readout Q was 84, C/N was 14.35 and P was 55.3
     
  15. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    Yes no C/N on the meter that I know of on the meter.
     
  16. mr3p

    mr3p SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    West
    Seems like a modified version of their STB. Can it do USALS or DiSEqC?
     
  17. jholt5638

    jholt5638 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Posts:
    80
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio USA
    I've been looking for a decent meter and after reading the specs I see that it has Composite/HDMI out. I am also need to replace my STB. So I'm thinking of buying this to do both till I can get a actual STB. This seems like a good compromise at least temporary one. Think it would work for that purpose? The lack of remote isn't a problem for me. And, after getting an STB I'll still have a great meter
     
  18. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado

    Yes the screen is small.
     
  19. hank123

    hank123 Topic Starter COLORADO CONNOISSEUR BUD HUNTER
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    517
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    I think you can. I dont use it for that, I would look in the manual.
     
  20. breynold76

    breynold76 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    st louis,mo
    I have had this signal meter for a week and it seems to be just like my freesat v7. Even if there is a signal it will not show a signal until a blind scan is done. Is this normal or am i doing something wrong? It takes a very long time to get a signal. move the dish a little then wait 3 minutes for a blind scan then repeat.
     
  21. jholt5638

    jholt5638 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Posts:
    80
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio USA
    I've ordered one but after reading the freesat forum apparently the v8 finder has a hardware fault. It's all above my pay grade but, from what I can gather it has a ripple from the power supply/battery that is close to the 22khz so it blocks all DiSEqC commands and only allows the high band on universal LNBs. So for anything more than a fixed dish with a single LNB in North America very limited use. If I am mistaken let me know
     
    mr3p and KennyR like this.



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...