FTA and Media Center / HTPC

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

mkygod

Original poster
Dec 23, 2005
High, I'm very new to FTA (getting my first FTA receiver soon, Viewsat Platinum) and I've also been building up my HTPC w/ Media center.

Media Center is great and I'm able to use it for lots of things, however one thing I never got to do was record video from broadcasts and use the media center guide. Since my house did not have satallite or even cable, I never bothered buying PVR card. I figure once we get satellite or digital cable, then I will dive into that.

So my question is how or if the FTA receiver works together with an HTPC and what limitations are there. Will i be able to record programs? schedule when to record? Access the EPG via my PC? Control the FTA receiver with media center? things like that.

Does anyone here have an FTA receiver integerated in their HTPC home theater?

Last edited:
I do not have a Media Center PC, but do have one friend who uses it to record his directv. The PC has an infra red control unit to change the channels on his directv box. The video is connected through the s-video jack and the audio through the pair of left/right rca's. Works very well, and the guide that is downloaded through the Media center (through his internet connection, he is on dialup and updates the guide manually) is very good. As for FTA, there should/may be some way of entering the stations in Media Centre to get the guide to work. If Media Centre can properly read your remote for your FTA, you should be able to program your channels in for it can switch the channels automatically.