Galaxy 19 pain in the neck!

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

hectorarmand

Original poster
Jan 26, 2011
Seattle WA.
I'm a total newbie about this, actually the engineering/satellite its not my area.
I work for a small tv station in Seattle WA. Since we don't have Chief Engineer (he passed away few months ago). I'm in charge of Master Control just because I'm a "technology friendly guy" :confused:
I know how to find a bird, i know about polarization, etc...
My problem is: i have to catch Galaxy 19. Using a birdog i found it just in H. Polarization, and the signal its very weak. I'm getting just 8.0db. On V polarization 'm getting nothing. Move the this or LNB means lost the satellite (it is very touchy). With the same dish (a 2.4m Patriot) i'm able to get a lot of sats. with any problem. Is there something special i should know about G19?

Other newbie question. how i can power a LNB?

Thanks!

Not sure how a "bird dog" works as I've never used one of those but I normally use the receiver to show me what Quality level I'm getting, which is what determines whether you get a lock or not with a receiver. Signal strength can help locate a Sat but Quality is what locks the receiver on to it.
You didn't specify what LNB you are working with so it's kinda difficult to help with that part. Most of the time voltage output from the receiver is what both powers the LNB and also switches polarity. Not sure how a "bird dog" does that.

It would help if you were to post more details about the equipment you are trying to use?

Hector,