Getting 4K HDR

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by kovach, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. kovach

    kovach Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis
    My TV has the following inputs, would any be preferable over another to get the full effects of 4K HDR?

    • HDMI VersionPort 1 supports: v2.0a; Ports 2-5 supports: v1.4
    • HDCP Versionv2.2
    • HDMI 1 Tech Spec600MHz pixel clock rate:
      2160p@60fps, 4:4:4, 8-bit
      2160p@60fps, 4:2:2, 12-bit
      2160p@60fps, 4:2:0, 12-bit
    • HDMI 2-4 Tech Specs340MHz pixel clock rate:
      2160@60fps 4:2:0 8 bit
    • HDMI 5 Tech Specs370MHz pixel clock rate:
      2160p@60fps, 4:2:2, 8-bit
      2160p@60fps, 4:2:0, 10-bit
      080p@120fps, 4:4:4, 10-bit
      1080p@fps120, 4:2:2, 12-bit
    HDMI 1 would seem to be the obvious winner but I have all my video components run through my home theater receiver into HDMI 1, including my DirecTV input. Problem is, my home theater receiver does not support HDR so I need to run this video directly to the TV (and the sound obviously via another method).

    I'd like to keep HDMI 1 hooked up in this manner because it's also the only CEC HDMI port on the TV so when I'm say watching Amazon Prime or YouTube it feeds back into the receiver, but I do have other options if I need to rework that.
     
  2. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    242
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    PA
    What model is your tv. It needs to support HLG HDR
     
  3. jacobryanc

    jacobryanc Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1

    I have the same problem that you have lol You're gonna want to use HDMI 1 as it supports v2.0. When I want to use my 4K box I just move over the HDMI out cable to it. I'm trying to find an affordable HDMI Switch that supports HDR so I won't have to do that anymore.

    What kind of TV is it? You might have to also enable an HDR setting in the menu. I had to for my Vizio.
     
  4. vazhog

    vazhog SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    United States
    I would suggest since your TV only has 1 2.0 HDMI -upgrade you avr you can get a good one $398-$500 depending on sales -sony denon-onkyo all with 2.2. hdmi ports
     
  5. kovach

    kovach Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis
    My TV is a Vizio M65-D0.

    I'm thinking about just running a digital optical cable from my TV into the home theater so that Amazon Prime and such still works, running DTV into HDMI 1, and everything else into one of the other HDMI's. I really don't want to ditch a perfectly good home theater if I don't have to.
     
  6. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,581
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    That sounds like a logical idea !
     
  7. kovach

    kovach Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ok that seemed to work.

    Surprisingly.

    I thought Directv's HDR was HLG and the Vizio M65-D0 was HDR10, which weren't compatible?
     
  8. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,581
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Those are 2 different formats.
     
  9. kovach

    kovach Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Yeah that's what I thought... So am I really getting the full benefits of Directv's HDR?

    I did get the green checkmark when checking the compatibility so I guess so.

    Maybe my TV also does HLG. It did show up at the top of the screen when I put on a 4K HDR program.
     
    #9 kovach, Jan 17, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
  10. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    58,581
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I think your good to go ...

    One format is basically for recorded programs ...
    the other is for broadcast (IIRC) which doesn't happen at this point.
     
  11. claw

    claw SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    24
    If your TV reports that it is receiving HLG then you are getting Directv HLG. My 2017 LG OLED also reports receiving HLG for channels 104 and 106. Directv is not sending HDR10. It is HLG. I believe the 2017 Vizio TVs received an update to support HLG.

    My LG switches to a HDR picture mode but there must be some additional internal processing to handle HLG vs HDR10 that is not apparent in the picture mode settings.
     
  12. kovach

    kovach Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    381
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Seems the sound cutouts are more prominent this way (or it's coincidental they got worse when I rearranged things).

    Also seems to be a slight delay lip sync issue.

    Might need to rethink thus...
     
  13. jacobryanc

    jacobryanc Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    It won't ever change from HLG to HDR10 for broadcasted HDR. HLG is Hybrid Log Gamma which means the signal is carrying the HDR information as well as the SDR info. It's then up to the TV to decode that information. If your TV can view HDR content then you will see HDR. If it's not it will just be SDR. HDR10 is strictly HDR. If the channels came in HDR10 and your TV isn't compatible with it then you wouldn't be able to view that channel. It's their way of having one channel that is open for both types of viewers.

    They're both HDR but it's more like a comparison between a 1080p stream and a 1080p bluray. Both are 1080p but bluray looks a ton better because it has more information and a higher bitrate. HDR10 would cost way too much bandwidth to broadcast. HLG is like a happy median.
     
  14. hancox

    hancox Pub Member / UConnaholic
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Posts:
    3,550
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Monroe, CT
    The DirecTV HDR check, as of right now, still checks for HDR10, *not* HLG.
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...