GPS Software

Jared Twomey

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Mar 7, 2005
Tacoma, WA
Anybody have any suggestions for good gps software for a laptop. I bought a usb gps receiver and Microsoft Streets and Trips 2007 last night, and after using it all day today, was pretty disappointed with it. For one, EVERY destination I put in to it, was off, normally by about an 1/8-1/4 mile.
Also, at least for my area, it is a VERY outdated map. There are new roads, exits, sections of highway, ect... that have been around a year or so, that aren't even on the maps. (and I dont see a way to update the map info)

Honestly, if I could get google maps to work offline, it would be awesome. I checked all of the roads and stuff that I noticed that were not in Microsofts program, and they were all on google maps.

So anywho, any suggestions on good gps software?
I'm a satellite installer so I need to be able to use it offline, while I am out in the field, and preferrably be able to track where I go during the day, and how far i've drivin.

Why laptop? It's so much easier to use it with a phone or PDA... ;)

1. no ugly mount/fully portable/multi-use
2. 14" - 17" display - phone PDAs and most low end GPS units are just too darn small for my in-car use.
3. easy upgrade/update/add-on - instant net construction and other alert updates.
4. one less devise overall
5. if you already have a laptop, the cost to get into a top featured GPS is far cheaper. (less than $100)

If you need you GPS on you belt for hunting, etc, then this is NOT for you.

BirdDoggy: Have you tried Delorme Street Atlas? I use both and could go either way, but I have never had those distance offsets you describe with MS. Could it be the receiver/antenna devise?

Last edited:
Nevermind: I found it HERE (for others to look at). iGuidance 4.0

Ceg: Is it REALLY good? $100 is somewhat high dollar just for software IMHO. Can you give us some comparison vs the others listed? Thanks.