Have experience with the ANDREWS DirecTV dish?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

the_tech_guy

Original poster
Aug 2, 2006
Eastern portion of MA
Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie to this group.

I'm hoping to find someone, especially a professional independent DirecTV installer, who may have had experience alingning the ANDREWS version of the regular DirecTV 5-LNB multi-sat dish. Apparently from what I have experienced, this dish is a little weak on the 103 degree satellite for HD locals in Massachusetts.

Since this is apparenly an aftermarket piece and normally used by third party national installing teams, I have never seen one before. It lacks an adjustment tilt for one of the LNBs which I believe is the reasoning, if not the different manufacured LNBs, why it seems to lack the performance.

If you are a professional experiencing this or a consumer who has apparently the same problem in reception, I'd like to hear about it!

huh, the Andrews POS works just like Cali Amp, and WNC. The LNB setting are under the mount for the 110/119 bracket. That has nothing to do with the 103 being weak. The Andrews is also weighs in at a few pounds more than the other 2.

That's true! However, the ANDREWS slides their LNB group on a bracket. The standard DirecTV dish actaully pivots a bit. The LNB manufacturers are different. The reflector is the same and the ANDREWS mount is actually beefier. That being said, it makes no sense unless this particular customer is a little south of the MA footprint. He's just next to the boarder of CT and RI.

the_tech_guy said:
The standard DirecTV dish actaully pivots a bit. The LNB manufacturers are different.

There isn't a standard D* dish, just a design that manufacturers have to use a guideline.

the_tech_guy said:
If you are a professional experiencing this or a consumer who has apparently the same problem in reception, I'd like to hear about it!