HD, 8PSK?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

simonhwsn

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2009
Mexico
Hi
I'm a newbie but I'm very enthusiast and I want to learn.
8PSK is a kind of... signal modulation? any satellite is capable to use it or just the newer ones, same question about HD channels and MPEG4 encoding...
thanks

No need to PM... ;)

Almost all of the satellites used for TV are simply bent pipes. They send out what they receive. So any signal thrown at them will come back down. Now if you use a high bandwidth signal without much FEC(forward error correction) then you'll need either/or a big dish or a strong signal. So on satellite slots like 77w where you have older satellites in spots they were not designed for you have to use a QPSK signal so you can have a sustainable decodable signal on the small residential dishes.

No need to PM... ;)

Almost all of the satellites used for TV are simply bent pipes. They send out what they receive. So any signal thrown at them will come back down. Now if you use a high bandwidth signal without much FEC(forward error correction) then you'll need either/or a big dish or a strong signal. So on satellite slots like 77w where you have older satellites in spots they were not designed for you have to use a QPSK signal so you can have a sustainable decodable signal on the small residential dishes.

Let me put it in my words to see if I got it. In this kind of modulation, error-rate is too high that you need a strong signal wich old satellites are not designed to deal with, you could use 8PSK but the signal would be so weak that you would have to use a big dish, right?