Help Moving to Digital

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

backwoods

Original poster
Nov 18, 2008
Hi, I'm a newbie from rural northern Michigan. We have a big backyard dish (c-band only) that we have been using for the last 15 years or so with an EchoStar analog receiver. Right now all we have is CNN - of course, that's about all that's left on analog...With the coming digital changeover, we are thinking of buying a digital satellite receiver for the big dish. I am sure you guys have had this question before, (maybe you can steer me toward some FAQs?) but we are wondering just how difficult it is to switch out an old analog receiver for a digital one? How difficult is it to program the first time? It's nearly impossible around here to find someone to come out and do an install, so we'll have to do it ourselves. I'm also wondering if there will be some new (less expensive I hope) digital receivers coming out, since 4DTV will really be 2DTV after February 17th...Any help you can give will be appreciated.

Welcome backwoods. I moved your post here, so maybe more will see it. I have not had much experience with 4DTV, But a lot of others have.

although analog satellite is dwindling away don't confuse the digital changeover in Feb with satellite the digital changeover is for OTA ( Over the Air).

a 4dtv is a digital receiver that can take the place of an old analog receiver ( unless you get a 905 sidecar ) although there are some free channels you can get with the 4dtv, most of the time its used for subscriptions ( which are sometimes cheaper than dish or Directv)