Help with AMC 5

Status
Please reply by conversation.

hammer328

Original poster
Aug 13, 2006
Hello to all you...
I am a novice to say the least.... I am interested in nothing illegal - I am aware of AMC5 up there that offers 5 OTB horse racing channels for free. I have an old 18" dtv dish and I purchased a pantech 2500 ulta multi star fta from e-bay.
I Tried with a friend of mine today to locate AMC 5 to not even getting any signal - again i ma a novice... lol I hooked it up and with no instructions i clicked on antenna intsall - found amc 5 hit ok ... it shows like 5 dishes to select from single / universal . dishpro etc.. ? i have no idea -- shows a bunch of other items to select as well - again i am clueless ... I thought I had the right lat and long from a site but i could be wrong as well .... All i want is AMC 5 -- Can anyone help me ? - i mean really help me as I have zero knowlege on what to do...
What setting do i do and how... where do i point this south ? south west ?
I am in Norhern New Jersey....
how high into the sky... ? is this even possible with an old dtv dish it has three nbs on it.... I am so frustrated as I want the OTB channels and they are free but i don't know how to set this thing up.... I have read things like tilt - transponders etc.. I don't know what those are... lol ---- anybody feel like walking a newbie through this so I can watch those free channels on AMC 5 ?

Please post and help me...

Thanking all of you in advance.:up

Welcome! You are at a great place with very helpful people. We will all pitch in and give you some guidance.

The dish that you are using is not suitable for reception of AMC5. The reflector surface is too small and the LNBF type is circular.

You will need a 30" minimum dish with a linear LNBF (either standard or Universal type). The dish needs to be aimed at approx. 200 degrees on a compass and 43 Degree in elevation.