How do I plant the dish?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ringram

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007
Hey guys. I'm new to this hobby. I just picked up a 10' mesh dish with c/ku lnb and a GI-550i receiver. It was working at the guys house when I took it down, so all should be good.

I need to plant this in the ground. How far down to I dig? How much concrete to pour in? Is a straight pipe the way to go, or is there a better method? I removed it from a slanted roof. I took the roof mount with me. It is a 5' pipe with a 4' section across the bottom. I was thinking of digging a deep trech, dropping this in and pouring in a few wheel barrows full of concrete.

Suggestions?

:welcometo SatelliteGuys... I had a 8' pipe and buried 4' and filled with concrete. You want to make sure and have holes near the bottom of the buried portion of the pipe with rebar crossways. This will help prevent the wind from moving the pipe as with a dish the wind load is pretty stout. Make sure the pole is perfectly level.

So, I only need to bury my pipe 4'? How about pouring concrete around the base of the pipe?

I'm in Winnipeg; longitudal center of Canada (almost). How many degrees from south will my dish swing to the east/west?

You can to that, when I put in my second BUD I could only go 3' deep, so I made a 1' hole and filled with concrete, when it set I then made a 3' square form from 2x4's and centered then poured, then I had 1' joiint of 1' pipe casing and put ontop of that and filled...