How to use the Editor for the Openbox S9 HD receiver

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Phottoman

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
OK, I have seen several people asking how to load their new Openbox receivers using the editor, so here is as simple a way as I can manage to help you.

Advanced users, would you please add to this so it will be easier for all people to use. I am only beginning at this and there is a LOT I don’t know (yet) but I am willing to learn.

First you’ll have to dump your *.asb file to a memory stick. I don’t think it matters what size stick you use. I am using one that is only 64M that I received with a CNX DUO several years ago. It’s small but does the job nicely.

Go to your menu on the Openbox, the fourth item down on the left side is a brief case, click on that.

On the right side you’ll see several options, the second from the bottom is “Dump by USB.”
If you don’t see this listed, you have an older file on your receiver and will have to find and load a newer file. I think from information I have seen, this was added sometime around May 2010.

Highlight and click “OK” to open.
At the top of the next screen you will see highlighted … DUMP MODE MISC FILES.

Click once to the right or left and you will see … DUMP MODE IMAGE FILES(*abs)
You want the image files highlighted here.

Click START
You will see two options, the HDS2_DUMP . ABS(image) file is the first, click the “OK” button on your remote. This will leave a blue check mark next to the file you want to dump. Now click the yellow button on your remote. The dump will go to your USB device, stick or hard drive.

Click “EXIT” once.
Drop down one item to “Remove USB Device Safely.”

After downloading is complete, click “Exit” on your remote twice, this will get you back to your TV programming on your receiver.
Remove USB Device and go to your computer.