I have an HTS BUD, want to bring it back from the dead.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

sharkdawg

Original poster
Oct 27, 2011
Sacramento
Everyone,

I am a newbie but am fairly technical and understand the basics of computer programming and science. The problem is I am not a Satellite kinda guy, hence this post. I am going to attach some pictures, the Satellite says HTS on it and the cables have been cut. It looks like it has two coax coming from the dish(possibly C and KU band?) I bought the house 3 years ago, and I have just kept it attached and was waiting for time to look into a project with this BUD.

The cabling is what I need to understand. I doubt this gets power over coax so there must be a power brick of some sort and would like to pick up the right guage electrical wire, hook up the coax, and other cabling necessary. Any suggestion for a noobster like myself?

IMG_0305.jpg

IMG_0303.jpg

-Will

Welcome to SatelliteGuys! actually the LNB's on the dish do get power thru the coax, the only other cable should be for the poloroter (switches from Horizontal to Vertical for the signals) RG6 for the coax, I've used cat 5 for the poloroter before... unfortunately C & Ku Band programming from the HTS will be limited now, but with the addition of a FTA receiver you can have alot of choices. :)

Nice looking dish! Does not look very old.