If you have a cooling device, the OTA dual tuner works PERFECTLY!!

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by edisonprime, Jul 1, 2018.

  1. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    496
    Location:
    55901
    I have mine laying on a laptop cooling pad and its been going on for several hours and is picking up EVERYTHING!!
     
  2. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,215
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    I just make sure my adapters are in open air and not touching anything and they both work fine.
     
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Mine is placed in front of my PC cooling fan
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    514
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    The heat is only half the problem. The dual tuner does not pick up any of the weaker stations. I can receive stations from both Columbus and Dayton Ohio using the single tuner. With the dual tuner, I can only receive half the stations from Dayton. If you are in a market with strong signals, the dual tuner will work if you keep it cooled. But if you have weak signals you want the single tuner.


    Sent from my iPad using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    Riktar2 and crodrules like this.
  5. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I use the single tuner to scan the stations in, then power down the receiver and swap for the dual tuner.
     
  6. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,379
    Likes Received:
    956
    I guess the question is whether that presumably weaker tuner will continue to receive the weaker channels. I am not saying it won't but it is hard to believe. Having said that I wil likely try this I will likely give this a try later this month when I rescan after one of my local stations starts channel sharing with another.
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  7. Apologist

    Apologist SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    2
    The questions is what will we run into trying to watch these weaker stations. More breakups? If it’s a weaker tuner then some of my stations might be unwatchable. I guess I will also give it a try.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    With the dual tuner, a station needs to display at least 70% on the receiver's signal meter in order for it to be reliable.
     
    charlesrshell and crodrules like this.
  9. Apologist

    Apologist SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks. Have you noticed more issues with the new ota?
     
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Other than the fact that it runs hot, no.
     
    charlesrshell and crodrules like this.
  11. Cypresstree

    Cypresstree SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Cypress
    Like another op stated - keep the adapter suspended mid air and it will perform just fine.

    I’ve had a single tuner and dual tuner adapter fail in the last 2 months.

    Need to sign up for dish protect again and submit them for replacement...


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  12. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    11,427
    Likes Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Michiana
  13. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,274
    Likes Received:
    809
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    I suppose you could immerse the OTA dongle in a vat of chilled mineral oil to keep it cool.

    We have a working computer in our office (plays a power point with messages on it) in a small aquarium filled with mineral oil and a few plastic fish.
     
  14. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,839
    Likes Received:
    9,849
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So how much does that Novec cost per quart? Or teaspoon?



    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  15. Riktar2

    Riktar2 Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Neosho, WI
    I added a fan setup to my dual OTA tuner and noted that while it helps, it does not solve the "lost signal" problem on some of my channels. It is odd watching the lost signal icon meter thingy bounce from nothing to 82 and then back to nothing.

    I did however resolve another problem I was having since the fan setup was 2 fans tied into a single power source. Since I noticed the Hopper was warm on the right side I placed the second fan by the vent slots and now my recordings no longer have a momentary skip on the audio track. It was weird to watch the picture portion play back perfectly but have the audio drop out for a second or 2 every few minutes. Didn't always happen and was going to post about it on this forum.

    I did check the fan on the left side of the unit and it does spin. This makes me wonder if I have a family of dust bunnies living inside the chassis. Might take a crack at a disassemble of the Hopper and see if it needs a good blowing out or a fan replacement/upgrade. Since I own this thing out right I am not too worried about the warranty.

    It there some hidden menu on the hopper that allows you to display signal strength on the OTA tuner?
     
  16. brice52

    brice52 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Wallace NC
    settings then OTA
     
    crodrules likes this.
  17. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    11,379
    Likes Received:
    956
    In my case the dual tuner performed less well immediately. The performance did degrade further from there. I suspect that elaborate cooling processes might hat the degradation but I doubt it would make it as sensitive as the original single tuner.
     
  18. Riktar2

    Riktar2 Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Neosho, WI
    I looked there (OTA channels) but the only things that comes up is the channel list menu that gives me the option to move channels off the guide. Nothing that shows channel strength. The only time I see channel strength is when the info box pops up saying the OTA channel has been lost. In that box, it will show what the signal strength is when the channel comes back.
     
  19. ekilgus

    ekilgus SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    837
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Southeast US
    If I recall correctly, we used to have the OTA channel strength available before the CUI. I suppose Dish didn't feel we needed this useful feature anymore.
     
    Riktar2 likes this.
  20. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    955
    Location:
    Earth
    On that channel list the highlighted channel gives the signal strength
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...