Status
Not open for further replies.

yourbeliefs

Something Profound
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Sep 20, 2007
Northeast
I'm stuck with this homework thing trying to figure out what this java code is supposed to do and how to fix it. I've been working on this forever. I know programming but I'm not good with Java, and also it doesn't help that this code is not written correctly:

public String mystery(String num) {
if (num == null) {
return "N/A";
}
int len = num.length();
int c = 0;
char[] sb = new char[len];
for (int i = 0; i < len; i++) {
sb[c++] = num.charAt(i);
if ((len - 1 - i) % 3 == 0 && i != len - 1) {
sb[c++] = ',';
}
}
return new String(sb);
}

I know this may not be the best place to post this, but I'm not a part of any other forums really, nor do I know anyone who knows Java (with the exception of my sister's ex husband :mad:)
Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

its not that bad.. first part just makes sure the value passed in itn't null.. if it is returns N/A..

next it gets the length of the string.. creates a new string.. fills it in with the previous characters and checks the remainder.. if has an if statement with the % that's a command that gives you what's left over after dividing (ex: 6 divided by 3 is 2 right.. remainder would be 0.. 7 divided by 2 would have 1 left over.. hence what its checking) every time theres no remained on a divide by 3 it puts in a comma..

in c that method would fail.. because you would eventually go past the string length (by not accounting for the length when adding the comma).. but not sure if that would fail in java..

anyway, simple answer is it's changing 1000 into 1,000 :)

its not that bad.. first part just makes sure the value passed in itn't null.. if it is returns N/A..