International channels (Free to air)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

frenchi

Original poster
Jan 11, 2013
Los angeles
Hello guys,
I'm a newbie here. I was recently in Florida visiting a friend and noticed that he had all the channels for Europe/Africa/middle east/asia and few american channels. He says he pays nothing for cable tv or satellite tv.

Well, I've been trying to get a satellite to pick up these channels.
I'm from France and would like to get french tv. I'm not sure how this guy can pick all these channels and even Direct tv or Dish don't offer that many international channels.

I tried to sign up with dish but they want 2 yrs contrac, I'm in the states 6 months out of the year. then They say I have to pay 500+ to get hd.
So i'm crossing everything out and trying to do it myself.

The question is : How do I start? What do I need? Satellite Dish, Receiver.

Channels I watch:
beIN sports, Tennis channel, Fox soccer, french24, canal plus.

Also he's on the East coast and I'm in California.

I have a general idea of how satellites works and I'm pretty good with things. Please help a rookie.

Thanks in advance

Hi Frenchi!

Welcome to SatelliteGuys!

The bulk of foreign / international and ethnic as well as religious FTA channels will be available on the Ku band satellite Galaxy 19 @ 97.0°W. This is a satellite that you can pull in easily from California on a 36" or larger stationary (fixed point or non-motorized) dish. There are other satellites up there which may have more of the specific channels like the ones you are looking for, but you might have to adopt a larger dish for C band to get them to pull in.