Internet Speed Problem - Phone company says it's on my end

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

duckydan

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 31, 2005
Philadelphia, PA
I have a problem with my internet right now. I'm currently getting 3.2mb on a speed test. They tell me my modem is responding back with a line speed of almost 8mb. If that is the case then where am I losing nearly 5mb of connection between the modem and the pc? I get the same results with and without a router with different cables. Is there a TCP/IP setting or something else on my pc I should check. I have no firewalls running and no antivirus (I'm a brave soldier... had to uninstall AVG last week as it was detecting a program I was running as a virus and I refuse to use anything else. That said I can guarantee no spyware or viruses are on the pc at this time)

When the phone company told me, "It must be your house wiring", I ran a direct line to their interface box outside. When they AGAIN told me, "it must be your house wiring", I responded, "I'm tapped direct to your interface". There was a tech here within 2 hours. Turns out there was a bad cable from the pole to my house. So #1 don't believe whatever they tell you if you think they may be wrong.

#2, as iwc5893 suggests, it can have a lot to do with what you get connected to for the speed test. If that remote computer OR ANY CONNECTION BETWEEN YOU AND IT is slower than your rated DSL connection.... then you'll only ever go as fast as the slowest link.

I am using Windows XP
My network card is the Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter when using the router, 1394 Net Adapter when using wired