Is it possible to use 2 OTA antenas and hook them up to one receiver?

scott78945

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 18, 2005
I have the Dish Network 942 and I have a Channel Master OTA antenna. I can get Fox and ABC around 74% but if I move it more to the right I can get Fox in better but then I lose ABC. Is it possible to hook up 2 OTA antennas onto one mast and then splice them together to get one cable to the receiver?

I have a channel master model 4228. Its mounted out back off of my shed. I was going to get an extension pole to try and get it over the roof of my house in hopes for a better reception. I have no way of powering a rotator in my backyard.

scott78945 said:
I have the Dish Network 942 and I have a Channel Master OTA antenna. I can get Fox and ABC around 74% but if I move it more to the right I can get Fox in better but then I lose ABC. Is it possible to hook up 2 OTA antennas onto one mast and then splice them together to get one cable to the receiver?
I have done that, and it did work for me. There was probably some signal loss, but I was able to bring in the desired station.

No effect on picture quality

scott78945 said:

If you consistently receive both stations around 74% then don't worry about it. The picture quality will not improve with a stronger signal. If however, the signal occasionally fades to where the picture pixilates or drops out, then you could use two antennas through a 1-to-2 splitter backwards as it's only a passive impedance matching device. However, the loss through the splitter may be worse than your current situation.