Is there any FTA sats I can get in Davenport IA?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

justagreatguy

Original poster
Oct 31, 2009
Davenport, IA USA
:) First of all i just want to say hi to everyone!! I am new to this and I want free TV. I bought a old but never opened Starcruiser DSR 5000 with a 30 in Dish with LNB all in box never opened at a used store for $20. I know its a old unit but I guess the dish was worth it. After I opened it, I seen it has a foreign plug on the receiver (2 round pins) so I just cut it off and installed a us plug and it works. But I dont think the menu for setting it up has the list of satellites for where I live. I think there for somewhere els. Well anyway I also have a VisionDTV 1020A card I got from ebay a long time ago but I never understood setting it up. I also have a Direct TV Dish with 1 LNB and I have a Super Dish from Dish Network with the 3 LNB's on it. Well do I have anything I can get Free TV with were I live and (or) is there anything I can buy that I need to get free sat if possible, and the visionDTV card supports Internet, is this something I can pay for and use where I live and who do I go threw to get it? Gee I want so much and know so little;)

The 30" dish sounds good. The old SuperDish might be pressed into service later on.
Not sure about the receiver. I'm sure someone will comment on it.

As for the programming available, you might look on 97° west, as it carries a lot of various programming to get started with.
Look over FTA list (the most simple one around) and see if anything strikes your fancy.
Or, tell us what you'd like to watch on FTA.

You'll need a clear view of the southern sky to aim the dish at a satellite of your choice.
As you get familiar with the equipment, and zero in on what you like to watch, we can help you with more dishes, if necessary. :)

Last edited: