Just born into FTA! How to get started.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

pomernman

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 6, 2008
Hey everyone! I am totally new to this FTA stuff. What little I do know is from reading the forums here. Thanks! I live in SC and currently have Sky Angel (SA) but with them ending satellite service I am looking at the FTA way. I am not to techno-savvy so please be patient if I am a little (lot) slow.

Just a couple questions:

1) I've looked at Sadoun & Global Communications equipment but I get confused (motor/no motor, recievers, LNBFs). Any help with package recommendations? Cost hopefully under $400 (if I can install myself-which leads to next question).

2) My SA dish is installed with pole in ground. Is it ok to just remove current stuff and replace it with new? I don't think it should be to hard other than the alignment.

I am considering Glorystar but would like more Christian programming and news than what they have.

Thanks for any help anyone can give me!!!

Some one else can fill you in with news, whether you can just use KU or if you will need C band. There is a good amount of Christian programing on Glorystar. There are several channels that have a good variety of programers. Church channel has a mix and there is one - I believe from S.Africa - that has a good mix also. TBN and Daystar each have my favorite programs, but I am a little radical - and for several good reasons - but on this site that discussion is to be left in the pit!
I think with a motorized you will be able to get news stations. I am going to motorized for that reason, myself.
POP

Last edited:
Hey everyone! I am totally new to this FTA stuff. What little I do know is from reading the forums here. Thanks! I live in SC and currently have Sky Angel (SA) but with them ending satellite service I am looking at the FTA way. I am not to techno-savvy so please be patient if I am a little (lot) slow.
welcome :wave