Just did a self install cannot get picture. signal strength is good.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Velvet Elvis

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 27, 2010
lAND OF cHEESEHEADS
How to install dish network myself? Keeps trying to acquire signal when signal strength is good.?

i recently moved and decided to attempt moving dish myself to new house. I used to be a cable tv installer so I was up to the challenge.

Dish network in 54247 zip code. I adjusted skew and elevation appropriately 114 skew and 32 elevation, and installed wiring exact as previous house. Signal strength is 75 on 110 and 119. green and locked.

it will go through first round of acquiring signal fine, and then download program guide, attempts to go to channel but black screen and then starts acquiring satellite signal all over again. And from there just keeps trying to acquire signal. Did a switch test and it comes back sayin there is less satellites than previous configuration, is this because all tvs arent hooked up yet?

Am i missing a step- do i need to contact dish network and inform them of new zip or something? Also- my dish is a year old and says turbo hd on it. I have just standard programming with hd package. How do i tell exactly which dish. I have tried searching this forum for answers, but am new to this and having a hard time sifting thru all the forum.

Thanks guys!

Number of tv's hooked up will have no effect. It sounds like to me that you may have not tightened your skew nuts and the dish has moved on you slightly. Have had that to happen to me because an installer left them loose. Hope it helps.