Ku question (or any band for that matter)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bmcniel

Original poster
Dec 2, 2011
North Carolina
Hi all, newbie to the forum. Lurked long enough. As I'm sure you all have heard before, I was an installer over 2 decades ago. What I will say is, everything has changed except for the pole!! I'm getting back into satellite and am having to relearn it all over again. My question is an odd one. Is there a way, or a device, or has anyone ever heard of using an array of dishes. For example, having two Dish500 dishes pointing to the same bird and their signal combined. I know, why not get a bigger dish. I'm just asking out of curiosity. It looks like if you had a couple 1 meter dishes that are low profile to the roof line, you could combine c-band signals from both antennas. Like most peoples' spouse, my wife had a complexion change that reminded me of an oven element when I mentioned putting up a 10 footer.

This forum is awesome, I hope it is here for many years to come.

can't be done with normal home equpment, for all kinds of technical reasons. Where there is no technical reason for your wife to object to watching free tv on a 10' Dish :)

Signal phasing, time of arrival, I'm sure there are a variety of reasons I dont understand. Just wondered if someone else had heard of such.

On the second part of your reply, I have talked her into chickens, gardening, solar power, dehydrating, and she *might* let me put up a greenhouse (jury still out on that one) but the BUD might be pushing my luck. Maybe I could use some of those artistic talents like the people who draw those neat sidewalk drawings and make it look like the side of our brick house.

WELL SNAP!! I guess I should have done a forum search more thoroughly before posting such a question. It has been asked before. Now I do feel like a noob.