Linksys Music Bridge

gbjbany

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 4, 2005
El Dorado Hills, CA Nr Sacramento
Im just getting into Internet Radio, escpecially to listen to European Music, im a yahoo user, so i use their launchcast app.
Has any body tried this this ZDNet Linksys WMB54G Wireless-G Music Bridge Review & Comparison
?
I want to be able to tranmsit the music from my pc to my av system, so i can listen to it in the family room, cables are a pain so looking for a wireless solution.

The ZDnet review mentions another device from logitech, which it says doesnt support the yahoo music engine, but has a remote control. Not sure if this will work, both reviews are over a year old so wondered if anybody had any more current info.

Well an update on this. I bought the DSM-520 from Best Buy, 135+ tax, good price, too good, when i got it home the manuals, the cables and the software cd was missing. got the software off the dlink site and had a spare av cable lying around

So i got the wireless up and running no problem, connected it to my TV and sound system, then tried to configure the media services. Oh well that was a nightmare.
It supports pc file sharing effectively, which i got working after much firewall changing
The it was on to the online zone, again no big issues but only two services, and i bought it for the yahoo online services it only had , live365 and vtuner (trial version).

Anyway pretty much a disaster, so im taking it back.

It did stream the audio, didnt try video, with my wireless but just not the content i wanted. oh well keep on looking.:hungry:

Well an update on this. I bought the DSM-520 from Best Buy, 135+ tax, good price, too good, when i got it home the manuals, the cables and the software cd was missing. got the software off the dlink site and had a spare av cable lying around