lnb conversion gain calculator

Status
Please reply by conversation.

beigas

Original poster
Jan 4, 2014
Latvia
re *

i'm a newbie in c-band, but i have just received a used d 6ft dish and now i'm looking to add one c-band to my ku-band fleet.

so i am looking on ebay to purchase a c-band lnb and i can select one with 65 or 70 db conversion gain, and i cannot find out which one i have to use. i didnt find any calculator or formulas how to determine what i need. maybe any1 can help or suggest something.

as far as i understand adding dielectric plate to receive a circular polarised signal makes about 3 db signal loss.

i want to receive 40.5w with circular polarisation, at my location eirp is 39 dbw (from ses.com) or 37 dbw (from satbeams.com), dish size is 6ft.

thanks in advance!

i see this is 65 db conversion gain lnb. what are eirp value, signal polarisation, dish size, and signal strength and quality when you are using it?

I don't use a C-Band LNBF. I have a dual orthomode feedhorn and 4 PLL LNBs On a 10' dish. If I needed a LNBF I would buy that one though.

there are 3 lnb's with similar price (about $20) available in ebay - DMS international BSC421, WS international ESX241 and WS international DMX241. i dont see any difference in technical parameters except conversion gain value, and i'm sure they all are made in china maybe even in the same factory

which one have i to choose?