Looking for some starter tips

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Duke Pittsburgh

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 29, 2011
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hey gang, FTA newbie here. Bought a camp in the mountains of Pennsylvania with a DN500 hanging outside (think it's 18"). Bought a $40 eBay Pansat 2700(not a clone) and was perfectly happy with having only ION TV & NASA TV. Since they have been removed, I've toyed with pointing to some different birds with all the info I've gathered from these threads, and the sites they have led me to, but have not been successful with any channels. I'd be really satisfied if I could just pick up an ABC News One or Ohio News Network (actually ANY english speaking channel) or even some wild feeds. Any chance of that happening with an 18" dish, or is (min)90cm a must? Also, there's no Diseqc switch on the DN500, coax strait from the 119w side of the dual LNB. Any point in trying to get input from both? Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!

Hey gang, FTA newbie here. Bought a camp in the mountains of Pennsylvania with a DN500 hanging outside (think it's 18"). Bought a $40 eBay Pansat 2700(not a clone) and was perfectly happy with having only ION TV & NASA TV. Since they have been removed, I've toyed with pointing to some different birds with all the info I've gathered from these threads, and the sites they have led me to, but have not been successful with any channels. I'd be really satisfied if I could just pick up an ABC News One or Ohio News Network (actually ANY english speaking channel) or even some wild feeds. Any chance of that happening with an 18" dish, or is (min)90cm a must? Also, there's no Diseqc switch on the DN500, coax strait from the 119w side of the dual LNB. Any point in trying to get input from both? Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!