Lost HD Channels

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lean Guy

Original poster
Jan 14, 2005
2 nights ago I noticed a 721 error on my main TV when I turned it on. Did a hard reset, unplugged Receiver, etc. Checked other receivers around house, and all HD boxes had same problem. Called Tech support, and got the usual response, which was what I had already done. They tried refreshing, but no change. Set up a service call for this coming Saturday. Last night I started playing around with different things: Swapping wires, moving boxes, etc. I refreshed from Website on all units, but no change. Then I went into settings menu on each box, and on Display Preferences, I switched to SD only, and all units started working. Unfortunately, now I can't go back, or have HD channels to show up on guide.

Any ideas? Would love to get HD back and cancel service call. I do have Protection plan, but I don't want some monkey ripping apart my entire set-up. I have 7 receivers, all over a multi-story house.

If all of your units are having the same issue, it's likely the lnb, or the cable(s) from the lnb inside. Do you have a swm setup? Either way, check all of the cabling and connectors from the dish back to the house. What are your signal strengths for all of the satellites? If you don't see anything obvious, I'm betting on a bad lnb.

I have a SWiM setup (SWiM 16). I did a Sat check last night, and all readings were in the 90's, but that was only for the first one. Assumed if one was that good, that all would be ok. I will check them all tonight when I get home.

I have a SWiM setup (SWiM 16). I did a Sat check last night, and all readings were in the 90's, but that was only for the first one. Assumed if one was that good, that all would be ok. I will check them all tonight when I get home.
You thought wrong ...

Check your Signal Strength for the 99 and 103 Sats and see what thier readings are ...

Btw, who says your gonna get a tech that doesn't know what he's doing ?