Lost my local stations

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Joemac8

Original poster
Jun 7, 2013
Wisc
This is my first visit and I am a novice when it comes to this stuff so please be patient with me. I have a Direct TV HR21-100 unit in my trailer. This is a receiver attached to my home account in Chicago. My trailer is parked and has been parked for a long time in Wisconsin. Until today, I received all of the stations that I receive at home including local stations. I especially like watching my local news.

I arrived at the trailer last night. I turned on the news (Ch 7) and a basketball game was on. I then switched to channel 5 news and , although the channel information appeared at the top, the station didn't come in. All I got was a message "Searching for signal on Satellite in 2..." and 771. I checked and found the same message on every channel for my local broadcasting except for channel 56 which still comes in fine. All other non-local channels come in normally.

I checked the signal strength and all were in the 90's. I reset the DVR and it was the same. I checked connections and all were tight. I called Direct TV and they told me shat I shouldn't receive a signal outside of my zip code. I told them I did and they said I shouldn't have.

Anyway, I have received these channels here for years and today I don't. It is cool and overcast, but not raining or storming. I do still receive one channel, Ch 56.

Any ideas on what I can do to fix this?????

TIA, Joe

sounds like a spotbeam issue, where for example I like in akron and have a cabin in WV, during the summer due to either earth drift rotation who knows, I dont get my akron locals to come in due to them being on a spotbeam on the satellite. To me this sounds like your issue too. here is the Chicago spotbeam from our Maps link above, see if it isn't hitting or on a fringe area to your cabin.

:welcome to Satelliteguys Joe!