mercury II channel backup

Status
Please reply by conversation.

updatelee

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 22, 2006
CFB Edmonton
Im still pretty new to this receiver, but the longer Ive had it the more I like it.

I really like the fact I can batch blindscan, tell it to blindscan 10 sats and walk away, pretty cool.

now Id really like to play with the channel backup feature I read about, but havent been able to find the feature in the menu. anyone know how to use this feature ?

On the Installation menu select Factory Reset. On the Factory Reset menu there is a Channel Backup and a Channel Restore selection. The Restore is only available if you have previously backed up.

ronjohn said:
On the Installation menu select Factory Reset. On the Factory Reset menu there is a Channel Backup and a Channel Restore selection. The Restore is only available if you have previously backed up.

perfect this is exactly what I was looking for, I just never looked under factory reset, hehe.

thanks again :)

With the receiver off, start up the ChEditor software (available form the fortec website) from there, you can download/upload your channel list to/from your receiver. The actual channel editor software is kinda crappy tho.

simulated said:
With the receiver off, start up the ChEditor software (available form the fortec website) from there, you can download/upload your channel list to/from your receiver. The actual channel editor software is kinda crappy tho.

Ive used it a few times to delete encrypted channels (once in awhile blindscan forgets that I only like fta, and switchs to ALL).

I sure wish there was a way to get the list out of that app and into channel master. I'll keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best :)

How did you get the CHEditor software to work?

I connected the serial cable, told the CHEditor software to upload, and turned on the receiver, but it doesn't do anything. I tried several different baud rates and two different computers.

ronjohn said: