Modified extended remote works for FTA receiver

Status
Please reply by conversation.

bill190

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Apr 10, 2007
Well I got my BSC621-2 working just fine and 370 channels.

I got some pretty good channels and besides being able to see these in my living room, I wanted to see them in the bedroom...

So I connected the bedroom TV and installed "B" speakers from my stereo to get AC-3 sound, then dragged out my old Terk "Leap Frog" Extended Wireless Remote.

The Leap Frog worked, but when it was on, I could no longer use the remote in the living room with the Mercury II unless I unplugged the Leap Frog. It was jamming the Mercury II. Plus I needed a clear line of sight since it would not go through my wood walls.

Thinking that Terk would have solved these problems with their newest product, I ordered a Terk LF-IRX "Remote Anywhere" remote control extender. This worked WORSE than my old Leap Frog! Not only did it jamb my Mercury II like the old Leap Frog, but I had to put the receiver up close to my entertainment center and hold my remote a few feet from the transmitter or it would not work. Same problem with clear line of sight needed.

So I tried a different brand... I got a Jensen JDSC-IR100A wireless remote control extender. This would work further away (receiver from entertainment center and remote from transmitter), but I had to have the transmitter in the same room as the receiver to get it to work!

Hummm....

I noticed all 3 remote extenders had an LED which would light when I was clicking on my remote. And that the red LED was flashing on and off even when I was not clicking on my remote...

Problem 1: I had a theory that there was some sort of RF noise in my area and none of the wireless remote extenders were built well enough to filter this out. And this is what was making the LED flash constantly.